Home Politics 2.95 million voters to determine Ajimobi’s successor –INEC

2.95 million voters to determine Ajimobi’s successor –INEC


[the_ad id=”1345″]

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Monday said 2, 954,720 registered voters would determine the fate of the next governor and other politicians contesting the 2019 general elections in Oyo State.

Thirty-seven political parties have presented governorship candidates for the next election, according to the INEC State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mr. Mutiu Agboke.

Among them are the flagbearers of the ruling All Progressives Congress, Chief Bayo Adelabu, Mr. Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party, Otunba Adebayo Alao-Akala of the Action Democratic Party, Senator Olufemi Lanlehin of the African Democratic Congress and Chief Sharafadeen Abiodun Alli of the Zenith Labour Party, among others.

Speaking at an interactive lecture by the Deputy Inspector-General of Police, Department of Logistics and Supply who is also the supervising DIG in charge of South West geopolitical zone, Agboola Oshodi-Glover, Agboke disclosed that over 400, 000 new registered voters have made the 2019 election to have the quoted figure as against the 2, 460, 016 that were registered in 2015.[the_ad id=”4581″]

The occasion held at Police Command headquarters, Eleyele, Ibadan had in attendance INEC officials, political parties/party chairmen, aspirants, Police Community Releations Committee members and other stakeholders.

Agboke assured that no vehicle of the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW) would be used to carry sensitive materials for the election, stressing that there was also not going to be fresh registration and transfer of registration by those willing to relocate where they registered to vote in another location.

The INEC Commissioner said the commission still had a subsisting Memorandum of Understanding with the leadership of the NURTW but such was purely on movements of logistics and not sensitive materials.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here